Skip to Main Content.


Kevin Charles Murray concentrates his practice in governmental services and serves as General Counsel to Marion County Sheriff Kerry J. Forestal.  He formerly served as General Counsel to Sheriff John Layton, Sheriff Frank Anderson, Special Counsel to Governor Joseph E. Kernan, and Senate Parliamentarian to Lt. Governor Katherine L. Davis.  Kevin served upon the Metropolitan Law Enforcement Consolidation Advisory Committee to help create a new police agency for Indianapolis.  As Counsel to Sheriff Frank Anderson, he successfully resolved 35 year federal litigation over unconstitutional jail conditions.

For over 40 years, Kevin has been involved in Indiana government and has extensive experience with the Indiana General Assembly.  From 1975-1979, he was an assistant to the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus.  In 1980, Kevin served as legal counsel to then Senator Frank O’Bannon and the Democratic Senators during the annual legislative session of the Indiana General Assembly.  From 1981-1986, he provided legal counsel to the Democratic Representatives during the annual legislative sessions of the Indiana General Assembly.  In 1997, he was named Counsel for the Senate Democratic Caucus.  Then Lt. Governor Joseph Kernan selected Kevin to serve as his Parliamentarian for the Indiana Senate in 1999, and he served Lt. Governor Davis in that capacity during 2003-2004.  Kevin served as Parliamentarian to the Indiana Democratic Party (2003-2012).

From September 2003 to January 2005, Kevin served as Special Counsel to Governor Joseph Kernan.  During that time period, he also served as the Governor’s Policy Director for Indiana’s Gaming Agencies-the Hoosier Lottery, the Indiana Gaming Commission, and the Indiana Horseracing Commission. Previously, he served as Special Counsel to the Indiana Lottery.

Kevin’s previous litigation practice focused primarily on health care, and included the successful defense of numerous physicians and hospitals, as well as the Indiana Department of Insurance’s Patient’s Compensation Fund.  He formerly chaired the Medical Malpractice Section of the Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana (DTCI), and Locke Reynolds’ Medical Malpractice Defense Group. Kevin is the author of several publications and has been a speaker for the Indiana University School of Medicine, the Indiana University School of Law, and Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA).

Kevin has been active in SLR since 2000.  He served as SLR Secretary and Board Member for several years.  Mr. Murray assumed the Presidency of SLR in 2014.

Other Info About Kevin


Law School

Indiana University School of Law, J.D., 1979, cum laude

Graduate School

Ball State University, College of Architecture and Planning, M.S.H.P., 2014

Undergraduate School

Indiana State University, B.S., 1975, magna cum laude 

Bar Memberships

Kevin is licensed to practice in the following state(s):



Kevin is admitted to practice before the following court(s):

U.S. District Court, Southern District

U.S. District Court, Northern District

U.S. Supreme Court


Local & National Recognition

Distinguished Barrister of the Year by the Indiana Lawyer

St. Philip Neri Hall of Fame, 2013

The Best Lawyers in America©, 2010-2019

Selected for inclusion in Indiana Super Lawyers®, 2005-2008

AV® Rated, Martindale Hubbell®, 20 + years

Indianapolis Irishfest, Honorary Chair, 2006

Senate Resolution 5, 2005

Sagamore of the Wabash, Governor Joseph E. Kernan, 2004

Distinguished Service Award, Kevin Barry Division, #3, Ancient Order of Hibernians, 2001

Indiana Defense Lawyer of the Year, Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana, 1999

Professional Affiliations

Professional Affiliations & Memberships

Indianapolis State Bar Associations

Indiana State Bar Associations

State Law Resources, Indiana contact

Ancient Order of Hibernians

Athletic Club Foundation

Indy Irishfest


Indiana Historical Society

Indiana State Museum Society

Indiana State University Alumni Association

Irvington Historical Society

Indiana University Alumni Association

Marion County Democratic Capitol Club

Indiana Sheriffs’ Association

National Sheriffs’ Association

Sigma Pi Kappa, National Historic Preservation Honor Society

Appointed by Mayor Joseph Hogsett to serve on the Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission

Civic Activities

Civic & Charitable Organizations

Indy Sports Foundation

St. Philip Neri “Hall of Fame” Committee

Indiana State University Alumni Association

Indiana University Alumni Association

Indiana Democratic Lawyers Caucus

Marion County Democratic Chairman’s Club

Indianapolis Fire Merit Board, 1999-2007

Indiana Democratic Party, Parliamentarian, 2003-2012

Metropolitan Law Enforcement Consolidation Advisory Committee, 2006-200

Firm Committees

Kevin serves or has served in the following leadership role(s) at Frost Brown Todd:

Indiana PAC Committee, Member

Related Insights